Welcome to Black Liquid Software

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Trasd

And so, it begins....

As I promised in my introduction, I will have a lot of questions, and so, it begins....

I am completely new to Banished, CC, and the entire builder\resource management game genre.  So far, I've had about 5 false starts, mostly with the vanilla game, but a couple with CC as well.  My last restart was because I couldn't find the fishery (which I found later, not realizing at first that the menu had more sub-menus).  This leads to my first question:

As a newb (sorry, but I find "noob" derogatory), should I begin with the vanilla version or CC (I cannot run the MegaMod on my laptop)?

To help me start, I checked out @ShockPuppet's Getting Started thread.  That was a bust (no disrespect towards ShockPuppet as I completely understand and sympathize with time restrictions and project priority).  I also read somewhere on the internet that there was a "Getting Started" PDF on the old site, but I was never able to confirm this statement.  This leads to my second question:

Can someone point me to a good "Getting Started" resource (I don't do well with videos, BTW, preferring text I can refer to later)?

Lastly:

Is there any specific maps that are considered more newb friendly (personally, I like 777, but I'm opened to others for learning purposes).

Any general advise?

Thanks in advance!